An inn has been welcoming travellers on this spot since at least the 16th century, and the oldest parts of our main building date from that time. People have lived on and around Loch Tay for 5,000 years, so there may well have been a community at Ardeonaig since the Iron Age.
Ardeonaig (pronounced ard-jon-aig) was built in 1649. Originally a drovers' inn (the word 'drove' meaning to move from one area to another, usually in accompaniment of livestock). It was an area of trade and farming, and three steam boats were stationed on Loch Tay, taking cattle, tradesmen, and local residents from point to point along the loch. The Inn was positioned by the Ardeonaig pier, where livestock would be loaded on and off. The inn would provide food, beer and shelter to the weary drovers as they transported cattle from the north to the markets in the south.
Perthshire became a fashionable destination in the Victorian era, when the railways made visiting Scotland feasible from the south of England, and the wealthy developed a taste for hunting, shooting and fishing.
Since 1915, Ardeonaig has been a hotel; originally named 'The Ardeonaig Temperance Hotel' since no alcohol was allowed or served on the premises!
From the early 20th century, Ardeonaig has welcomed generations of anglers who came here for some of the best salmon fishing in Britain. Many of the old leather-bound visitors' books in our library stand testament to splendid days on the loch - and magnificent fish.
We're on the quieter, southern shore of Loch Tay, on a single track road, and our neighbours are farming families who've lived here for generations. We're about half way between the villages at either end of the 14 mile long loch - Killin at the head, and Kenmore at the outflow to the River Tay.